top of page

Truth Tuesday: Why #PrayForOrlando won't end the tragedy, and why I still prayed

If you have not already heard, the deadliest mass shooting in U.S. history occurred at a gay dance club in Orlando a few days ago. 49 people were killed and 53 were wounded by a single gunman, in what President Obama referred to as "an act of terror and hate."

For families of those injured and killed, the world stopped. For all, our hearts are broken and our nation is forever changed.

Shortly following the shooting, the hashtag #PrayForOrlando emerged and began trending almost immediately.

I have recently seen comments about the hashtag, people arguing that praying will not change the situation and prevent it from happening in the future, and that is true.

But I still prayed.

While policy may be the only way to truly change these senseless acts of violence, praying allows me to take a second to collect my thoughts, count my blessings, and decide how I can participate in the change.

In times of despair, praying allows me to send my love to those closest to the tragedy in the only way I know how, since I cannot physically be present.

So, I prayed.

I am aware that my prayers will not take the pain away from the families of those killed and injured. I know that my prayers will not bring back the lives lost. I understand that my prayers may not change the future of this nation, but I am still praying for it.

I prayed for the future and the past. I prayed for the city of Orlando as they attempt to mend their shattered hearts. I prayed for the LGBTQ community. I prayed for the voices who were silenced. I prayed for those afraid to hold the hand of their significant other in public. I prayed for safety. I prayed for healing. I prayed for all of us.

The comments are correct, my prayers will not end the tragedy. But demeaning my prayers will not end it either. Instead of dividing, we need to unite and surround our friends, loved ones, and neighbors. Regardless of any opinions on same-sex relationships, these were sons and daughters, brothers and sisters. They were loved, and they were taken too soon. This is a time for grief, and a time for mourning, but this is also the time for change.

I prayed, because in a time of unfathomable sorrow, it was all I knew to do. President Obama said it best; this really was an act of terror and hate.

We need change. But right now, we need love.

That's why I prayed.

To those who want to help Orlando, I highly encourage you to donate blood, as the demand for blood is very high, or donate to hospitals in Orlando.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page