top of page

Current Obsession: Antique Galvanized Decor

For my recent obsession with galvanized home decor, I blame Fixer Uppers. After initially spotting the items on the show months ago, I was determined to find my own galvanized decor at local thrift stores.

I love thrift stores as it is, but I love them even more when I am on a mission instead of my usual aimless wandering. I found a local antique shop and I had to stop just to check it out.

The "store" was a woman's garage-turned-shop, which she lovingly referred to as "her retirement." She rows of items neatly placed antiques, each in pristine condition. I walked up and down the rows, stopping to touch many of the items. A boxy, old suitcase caught my eye but I kept walking because I would not have much use for it (despite every scenario I crafted in my mind that said I would use it all the time and I needed it!)

In the middle of the garage, a vintage truck was parked with larger, miscellaneous items in the bed. Like a shining beacon of light, a galvanized bin sat on top of an apple crate and I knew that I had to have it.

My plans for the bin are still unknown, but right now I'm using it for an umbrella holder by the front door. It could also hold tall flowers, plants, or twigs wrapped in string lights. Whatever purpose it serves, I am obsessed with the way it looks. It is cute but it is simple, making it perfect for whatever I use it for.

All of my home decor is slowly but surely moving towards that rustic, industrial feel that I love. Galvanized decor is number one on my list of must-haves as I'm decorating, so it is not only my current obsession of the week, but my current obsession of the season. I'm already scouting serving trays, wall pieces, and kitchen accessories that are galvanized. I think when paired with elements such as wood, stone or brick, galvanized decor can really compliment texture.

For those seeking the same, I only spent about $10 on the vintage galvanized bucket at a local thrift store. I highly recommend thrift stores when searching for old school home decor because they often have a large selection, and it is cheap. Be warned, when going to antique thrift shops, you may leave with things you didn't even realize you needed!

What is your current home decor obsession? Let me know in the comments!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page